Wilbur Smith

Books I remember reading

  • When the Lion Feeds
  • The Diamond Hunters
  • The Sunbird
  • The Burning Shore
  • Power of the Sword
  • Elephant Song
  • River God
  • The Seventh Scroll
  • Warlock

The Billionaire and the Devatha

link: Notion Press BUY Link

The Billionaire and the Devatha, is a romantic fiction about Hari, who is tested by fate and forced to face all sorts of difficulties in life. Does he face his troubles boldly, and is he able to come out on top of them?

The value of Indian culture and importance of maintaining good relationships have been projected throughout the story. Hari suffers through several difficult situations one after another, and readers may relate to his plight.

However, it is important to remember that unconditional love and respect for Nature and the Almighty will definitely give us the support necessary to understand that our falls are neither fatal nor permanent.

Hari is only an imaginary example of the lives of many living legends who have fought all their lives to attain great fame. This book is a very interesting read with plenty of surprise twists at unexpected moments.

About the Author

Sivanandan, a retired banker with vast experience in human relationships, has always been interested in literature. He has great passion for writing and has written short stories in the past.

After his retirement, he has embraced writing completely. This is his maiden attempt at a full-fledged novel. The Billionaire and the Devatha is a romantic novel aimed at building confidence and a positive outlook on life. The author himself faced many difficulties in his past but has come out successful after fighting against the odds with confidence and self-discipline.

A great devotee of the Goddess of Samayapuram, he has attributed the success in his life to Her Divine Love and Blessings. The author believes that prayers and belief in the Almighty will help everyone live happily and peacefully.

Louis L’Amour

An Author par excellence, Louis Dearborn L’Amour was an American author who wrote about 85 novels and a tonne of short stories in his prolific life. His children carry on his legacy.

Some of his titles include: Chancy, Fallon, Flint, High Lonesome, Kid Rodelo, The Burning Hills, The Iron Marshall, The Man Called Noon, Galloway, Guns Of The Timberlands, Mustang Man and can be bought fromAmazon.

About the Author
“I think of myself in the oral tradition — of a troubadour, a village taleteller, the man in the shadows of the campfire. That’s the way I’d like to be remembered — as a storyteller. A good storyteller.”

It is doubtful that any author could be as at home in the world recreated in his novels as Louis Dearborn L’Amour. Not only could he physically fill the boots of the rugged characters he wrote about, but he literally “walked the land my characters walk.” His personal experiences as well as his lifelong devotion to historical research combined to give Mr. L’Amour the unique knowledge and understanding of people, events, and the challenge of the American frontier that became the hallmarks of his popularity.

Of French-Irish descent, Mr. L’Amour could trace his own family in North America back to the early 1600s and follow their steady progression westward, “always on the frontier.” As a boy growing up in Jamestown, North Dakota, he absorbed all he could about his family’s frontier heritage, including the story of his great-grandfather who was scalped by Sioux warriors. Spurred by an eager curiosity and desire to broaden his horizons, Mr. L’Amour left home at the age of fifteen and enjoyed a wide variety of jobs including seaman, lumberjack, elephant handler, skinner of dead cattle, assessment miner, and officer on tank destroyers during World War II. During his “yondering” days he also circled the world on a freighter, sailed a dhow on the Red Sea, was shipwrecked in the West Indies and stranded in the Mojave Desert. He won fifty-one of fifty-nine fights as a professional boxer and worked as a journalist and lecturer. He was a voracious reader and collector of rare books. His personal library contained 17,000 volumes.

Mr. L’Amour “wanted to write almost from the time I could talk.” After developing a widespread following for his many frontier and adventure stories written for fiction magazines, Mr. L’Amour published his first full-length novel, Hondo, in the United States in 1953. Every one of his more than 100 books is in print; there are nearly 230 million copies of his books in print worldwide, making him one of the best-selling authors in modern literary history. His books have been translated into twenty languages, and more than forty-five of his novels and stories have been made into feature films and television movies.

His hardcover bestsellers include The Lonesome Gods, The Walking Drum (his twelfth-century historical novel) Jubal Sackett, Last of the Breed, and The Haunted Mesa. His memoir, Education of a Wandering Man, was a leading bestseller in 1989. Audio dramatizations and adaptations of many L’Amour stories are available on cassette tapes from Bantam Audio Publishing. The recipient of many great honors and awards, in 1983 Mr. L’Amour became the first novelist ever to be awarded the Congressional Gold Medal by the United States Congress in honor of his life’s work. In 1984 he was also awarded the Medal of Freedom by President Reagan.

Louis L’Amour died on June 10, 1988. His wife, Kathy, and their two children, Beau and Angelique, carry the L’Amour tradition forward with new books written by the author during his lifetime to be published by Bantam well into the nineties — among them, four Hopalong Cassidy novels: The Rustlers of West Fork, The Trail to Seven Pines, The Riders of High Rock, and Trouble Shooter.